Attack of the Forgotten Manuscript

Hola,

So I’ve been working on my YA urban fantasy AYAME. I released a sample of the first chapter but decided it was too premature.

As I looked for another sample of my writing, I came across a manuscript I wrote two years ago (it’s still untitled, so let’s call it The Maria Story). I wrote it fast and furiously, and in a matter of 3 weeks, I was on my last chapter.

But on the last chapter, as I took a short break from the story, I realized there were issues with it. I let it sit for a few months before reworking anything. However, when I finally came back to it, I just wasn’t feeling it anymore. The Maria Story had lost its charm. The original idea was flawed and this edited version was turning out no better. Feeling like it was a lost cause, I relegated the file to a deep, dark corner of my USB. Perhaps this was just part of the trade. Not everything you liked was good, and not everything good could actually sustain a story.

d2.jpg

Now back to me trying to find a writing sample. I came across The Maria Story and I thought I could extract a good writing sample from it. And as I started reading it, my socks were very much blown off.

Oh. My. Word. Did I write this? How did I NOT finish?

After looking at it with a new mind, I’ve realized I can easily fix the story and make it a strong piece. And that’s why now, AYAME is sitting on the backburner as I finish up The Maria Story. It’ll probably take me a month.

It’s a story that’s very close to my heart. I hope I do it justice.

I’ll soon write another post with details on The Maria Story. If you’d like to get updates on the story, follow my twitter (@therainyraja) or this blog, or join my email list: http://eepurl.com/cP0i5v

Thanks for reading 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

